South Philadelphia Youth Baseball Team Barnstorms to MLB All Star Game

image

Here’s something that I really think is neat and should be a once in a lifetime experience. An under 12 all star baseball team based out of the Marian Anderson Recreation Center in South Philadelphia is going to reenact a Negro League barnstorming tour to honor the memory of the League and Jackie Robinson. The Anderson Monarchs will travel from Brooklyn, NY (Jackie Robinson’s gravesite) to Kansas City, MO for Major League Baseball’s All Star and back across the country to Philadelphia for a homecoming party and a short trip to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY.

The team has set up ways people can get involved, from volunteering or picking out a few things the team might need on tour via a wishlist. The Anderson Monarchs are on Facebook and Twitter so there’s easy ways to follow their tour and hopefully I can catch the team once they get back into the Philly area. I wish the team and the parents the best of luck and safe travels.

About negroleague

I decided to start this blog to record my various rants and observations about certain topics. Those include sports, politics, tech stuff, and music. I'm not sure about spilling my personal life out but that will change over time. I am a non-custodial parent to a great 5 yr old daughter and I'm in the middle of some exciting and transitional moments in my life. So maybe blogs about my personal life will have to do from time to time.
This entry was posted in Negro League Baseball Museum, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

