Rawlings and the Negro Baseball League Museum to pick 9 Gold Glovers from the Negro Leagues

Short entry but this is pretty exciting to me. Rawlings and the Negro League Museum are going to pick the 9 best fielders in the history of the Negro Leagues. That’s over 2600 players to go from and while some of the big names like Cool Papa Bell, Josh Gibson, Ernie Banks show be on the list, hopefully some names you don’t hear about may make the list. I’m going to make some predictions and see how close I come

Pitcher: Satchel Paige

image

Catcher: Roy Campenella

image

1st Base: Josh Gibson

image

2nd Base: Jackie Robinson

image

Shortstop: Ernie Banks

image

3rd Base: Judy Johnson

image

Left Field: Hank Aaron
image

Center Field: Willie Mays image

Right Field: Cool Papa Bell image

Here’s a nice link with video explaining the effort that Rawlings and the NLM is under taking to bring back some buzz and money their coffers.

About negroleague

I decided to start this blog to record my various rants and observations about certain topics. Those include sports, politics, tech stuff, and music. I'm not sure about spilling my personal life out but that will change over time. I am a non-custodial parent to a great 5 yr old daughter and I'm in the middle of some exciting and transitional moments in my life. So maybe blogs about my personal life will have to do from time to time.
This entry was posted in Negro League Baseball Museum and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment